Home > Uncategorized > Counting the Traffic

Counting the Traffic

I must say that I was very skeptical about being able to use this method in larger libraries, like Stockholm University. There is just so many student, much movement and several floors. However, the successful application of the method at Oslo University have made me intrigued.

I still have my doubts about the value of the information, as it is merely counting “instances of observations” – samplings rather than actual persons/behavior. I have a hard time wrapping my mind around the concept, it just seems as it would prove to be to unreliable an information. But, I will need to take a closer look at the reports from Oslo before I can make any serious evaluation. I look forward to having on my table yet another big report to read. =)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Lars Egeland
    June 10, 2010 at 5:34 am

    Take a look at the reportv from the counting at Oslo University College. The point is that when you have enough instances it will show a staistical true picture of what people are doing in the library. The more instances you have, the more you can trust the data for instance for showing not only what people are doing, but also when, where and who.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

